Flies for the coming Season

Each winter I find myself busy tying new patterns and adapting others, that I’ve seen on other Blogs or in the media.  Currently trying to cut down the new patterns so that a complete box for a season on a Chalkstream is less than two dozen, or, in my case, between forty to sixty patterns ! At the moment I’m intent on having a box full of new Mayfly patterns from nymph through to spinners.

Its a very personal thing tying flies, alone with your own thoughts, background music or radio, intensely focused on the tip of the vice, the hook and the way the pattern is forming in front of you.  I think it should be used as a new dieting method, because I’ve noticed that while I’m doing it, I don’t snack or even have a beer.

The Nymphs are easy to assimilate, this one, is the ever popular Gold Ribbed Hares Ear, it is an easy one to tie, and one that I’ve found to be a deadly pattern, and has taken in the past season or so, superb Grayling and Trout throughout the season.   

 It is one that I’ve copied from Dave Wiltshire, its well worth spending some time looking on his blog, http://www.riverflybox.co.uk/grhenymph.html  for for tying instructions on this and some others of his beautiful patterns.  

Other nymphs will have to be, Pheasant Tail Nymph, Peeping Caddis, Grey Goose, and maybe another half dozen Czech style nymphs with Tungsten bead heads, and a few floating nymphs which on the day when the fish are being ‘picky’ have been a day saver for me.  

Emergers become a little more complex, the universal Klinkhammercould cover most scenarios if I have them in four different thorax colours, mostly I tie them on a size #16.   I’ll also have Caddis Emergers in three or four patterns, essential for those exquisite hot, almost thundery Summer evenings, when, just as the light fades, – larger Trout become less cautious and begin to feed, slashing at them hungrily even if they are dragging in the current, which can be the trigger for them to attack them.   It is during this twilight into darkness, when you often can only guess where your fly is on the water and you instinctively lift into a fish rather than see a specific take.  I try to use the sky reflection in order to be able to assess where my fly is, but more of this in a later posting.   

Mayfly family are crucial for June through to mid August.  Nymph, Emerger, Dun and Spinner, I have some killer patterns for all of these with the trigger points essential to draw fish up.  The patterns have been so successful for me that you have to turn your back on the water when you tie them on otherwise the fish will leap out of the river and take them from your fingers!  I’ll be showing step by steps on detached bodies that are durable and don’t get shredded on the first Trouts teeth.

Here are the basic flies I think I need, there will be more variation later.  If you have any ideas or think any crucial ones have been omitted, please let me know and if I agree I’ll include them and a tying pattern.

Beacon Beige – Grey Duster – Daddy Long Legs – F Fly – Olive CDC Emerger – CDC Sedge – Pale Olive Mayfly – Parachute Adams – Klinkhammer – Mayfly Family – Caddis in CDC and Elk Hair – ParaAdams – SplitWing Olive – Blue Winged Olive – Yellow Duster – Black Gnat – Hawthorn – F Fly – Elk Wing Caddis: 

I’m a fly fisherman and a fly tyer,  but I’ve realised that to properly illustrate this BLOG, I’m going to have to get to grips with some basic photography skills, so bear with me a short while, over the next week or so,  I might be changing some of the pictures as I go through a learning curve, – tolerate the existing ones for the moment.

Let me know if you feel that I’m missing out on a good fish taking fly, I’d be pleased to include it. .

Leave a Reply

